CSP News You Can Use: May caregiver events – starting next Tuesday!

Corona Virus Updates from VA CDC link for Corona Virus Updates

Scroll Down to see the News update

Join CSP this May for events focused on spirituality, respite, and self-care!

Caregiver Support Program

Caregiver Support Program
News you can use

The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Caregiver Support Program (CSP) and partnering VA offices are excited to continue various events for caregivers of Veterans. Check out our list of events for May below!

man practicing yoga

Caregiver Support Line Monthly Education Call

Join the Caregiver Support Line (CSL) for its monthly education call for caregivers this May. The month’s topic is Balance in the Eye of the Storm: Self-Care When Caring for a Loved One with Mental Health Concerns. The call will be held on the following dates and times:

  • Tuesday, May 3, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. ET (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, May 11, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, May 18, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

Caregivers must register to join the CSL monthly education call. To register, call 1-855-260-3274. Caregivers who cannot attend the calls can access presentations on the CSL’s webpage.


hand holding respite card

CSP Peer Support Mentoring and VA Chaplain Office Spirituality Call

Join the VA Peer Support Mentoring (PSM) Program and the National Chaplain Office for their monthly spirituality call. The theme for May is Spirituality and Respite. It is open to caregivers of Veterans enrolled in the General Caregiver Support Services or the Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers. The call will be held on:


Time: 12:00 p.m. ET (11:00 a.m. CT; 10:00 a.m.; MT; 9:00 a.m. Pacific)
Meeting call-in number: 1-833-558-0712 (USA Toll-free);
Meeting access code: 2762 030 9378
For more information about future PSM calls, visit CSP’s Events page.


woman looking at computer screen

A Conversation about Survivor’s Benefits

As a Veteran or service member survivor, you may qualify for added benefits. Join the Washington D.C. CSP team, Virginia Department of Veterans Services, and the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) for the third event in the Advance Care Planning series, A Conversation about Survivors Benefits. The event is available to all caregivers, regardless of location, and will be held virtually on Wednesday, May 18, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific). Please RSVP by May 16, 2022, using the following link: https://aarp.cventevents.com/event/61b046ff-e582-42aa-9684-a35afee8874b/summary. For questions about this event, send an email to vhawas.generalcaregiversupport@va.gov.


Reach out to your CSP team!

Every VA facility has a CSP team that provides caregivers support and referrals to services. They provide valuable information about resources that can help you stay informed and supported as you care for your Veteran. Reach out to your CSP team to learn about more events in your local area.

We hope you attend one of our many events!

Sincerely,
Your Caregiver Support Program Team