April caregiver events – starting this Friday!

Corona Virus Updates from VA CDC link for Corona Virus Updates

Scroll Down to see the News update

Join CSP this April for spirituality, monthly education calls, and advanced care planning.

Caregiver Support Program

Join us for Upcoming Caregiver Events!

The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Caregiver Support Program (CSP) and partnering VA offices are excited to continue a variety of events for caregivers of Veterans. Check out our list of events for April below!

Older couple in woods

Spirituality and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

Join the VA Peer Support Mentoring (PSM) Program and the National Chaplain Office this April for their monthly spirituality call. The theme for April is Spirituality and PTSD, and is open to caregivers of Veterans enrolled in the Program of General Caregiver Support Services or the Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers. The call will be held on:

Date: Friday, April 1, 2022
Time: 12:00 p.m. ET (11:00 a.m. CT; 10:00 a.m.; MT; 9:00 a.m. Pacific)
Meeting call-in number: 1-833-558-0712 (USA Toll-free);
Meeting access code: 2762 030 9378

For more information about future PSM calls, visit CSP’s Events page.

Family smiling

Caregiver Support Line (CSL) Monthly Education Call

At your wits end? Learn how to regain your equilibrium as a parent and family caregiver with April’s CSL education call. The call will be held on the following dates and times:

Tuesday, April 5, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. ET (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
Wednesday, April 13, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
Wednesday, April 20, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

Caregivers must register to join the CSL monthly education call. To register, call 1-855-260-3274. Caregivers who are unable to attend the calls can access presentations on the CSL’s webpage.

Older couple looking at computer

Advanced Care Planning: A Conversation about Burial Benefit

Calling all Caregivers, Veterans, and Community Members! Join the Washington DC VA CSP team, American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), and the VA National Cemetery Administration (NCA) for the second event in their Advanced Care Planning Series. Participants will learn more about the services and benefits offered through VA NCA. The event will be held on: April 20, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. ET (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific). There will be an opportunity to ask questions to the presenters! Please RSVP at least 72 hours in advance using the following link: https://aarp.cventevents.com/d/m8qbzv/.

For more information or questions, contact the Washington DC VA CSP team at: vhawas.generalcaregiversupport@va.gov.



Reach Out to Your CSP Team!

Every VA facility has a CSP team that provides support and referrals to services. They provide valuable information about resources that can help you stay informed and supported as you care for your Veteran. Reach out to your CSP team to learn about more events happening in your local area.

We hope you attend one of our many events!

Sincerely,
Your Caregiver Support Program team

 


Need help?
Visit www.caregiver.va.gov or connect with the Caregiver Support Program team at
your local VA facility to learn about the support that is available to you.